about About us

VALS-ASLA, the Swiss Association for Applied Linguistics, is a forum for the exchange of knowledge and information in the field of Applied Linguistics, an interdisciplinary field of linguistics in which language-related challenges and real-life problems are examined and results are applied in both practice and theory development.

Your benefits as a VALS-ASLA member 

  • You will be informed via our monthly newsletter about interesting conferences and congresses as well as current job vacancies and projects in the field of Applied Linguistics.
  • You have the possibility to make announcements to and share information with all members via our newsletter.
  • You are entitled to request grants for travel expenses from VALS-ASLA as well as financial support for scientific events.
  • You will receive our journal, the “Bulletin suisse de linguistique appliquée”, containing articles in German, French, Italian and English free of charge every six months. 
  • You have the possibility to write articles for the Bulletin or to be the editor of a special issue. 
  • You have electronic access to AILA Review, the journal of the International Association for Applied Linguistics. 
  • You can strengthen and expand your network in applied linguistics in Switzerland.

In addition, your membership supports the field of Applied Linguistics in Switzerland. 

  • As a community of interest, VALS-ASLA can conduct scientific work more effectively and can perform social as well as research tasks more successfully.
  • VALS-ASLA actively connects individuals, projects and scientific interests while also contributing to the development of young scientists.

President

Martin Luginbühl
Prof. Dr.
Universität Basel
Deutsches Seminar
Nadelberg 4
4051 Basel


martin.luginbuehl@unibas.ch

Vice President

Lorenza Mondada
Prof. Dr.
Universität Basel
Institut für Französische Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Maiengasse 51
4056 Basel

lorenza.mondada@unibas.ch 

Secretaries

Ina Pick
Dr.
Universität Basel
Deutsches Seminar
Nadelberg 4
4051 Basel


Tobias von Waldkirch
Universität Basel
Deutsches Seminar
Nadelberg 4
4051 Basel

info@vals-asla.ch

Assessors

Marcel Burger 
Prof. Dr.
Université de Lausanne
Section de français 
Anthropole
Bureau 3024
1015 Dorigny
Marcel.Burger@unil.ch

Daniel Elmiger 
Dr.
Université de Genève
Département de langue et littérature allemandes
Bd des Philosophes 12
1205 Genève
daniel.elmiger@unige.ch

Johanna Miecznikowski 
Dr. habil.
Università della Svizzera italiana
Facoltà di scienze della comunicazione
Istituto di studi italiani
Via G. Buffi 13
6904 Lugano
johanna.miecznikowskifuenfschilling@usi.ch

Regula Schmidlin 
Prof. Dr.
Universität Freiburg
Faculté des Lettres
Av. de l'Europe 20
CH-1700 Freiburg
1700 Freiburg
regula.schmidlin@unifr.ch

Marta Zampa 
Dr.
ZHAW Angewandte Linguistik
Theaterstrasse 15c
8401 Winterthur
marta.zampa@zhaw.ch

Accounting Officer

Ulla Kleinberger 
Prof. Dr.
ZHAW Angewandte Linguistik
Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen
Theaterstrasse 15c
8400 Winterthur
ulla.kleinberger@zhaw.ch

Editor-in-chief of the "Bulletin Suisse de Linguistique Appliquée"

Alain Kamber
Prof. Dr.
Université de Neuchâtel
Institut de langue et civilisation françaises
Faubourg de l'Hôpital 61-63
2000 Neuchâtel
alain.kamber@unine.ch

Auditors

Giuseppe Manno
Prof. Dr.
FHNW
Hofackerstrasse 30
4132 Muttenz
giuseppe.manno@fhnw.ch

Thomas Studer
Prof. Dr.
Université de Fribourg
Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit
Rue de Rome 1
1700 Fribourg
thomas.studer@unifr.ch

Some of our collective members